One month to go

Hey people,

So, Well In exactly in one month I will be departing to DC for GATEWAY ORIENTATION!!!!!!!!! I’m filled with so many emotions I don’t even know how to describe it. I’ve been counting down the days since March 22nd, 2017 at 7.24pm. I’m happy, excited, sad, scared, umm words. Scared is one of the bigger emotions. The longest I’ve ever been away from my family is 2 weeks at camp around 2 or 3 years ago. So this is huge. I’m scared of messing the language and saying something inappropriate or rude. I’m scared of being fed food that I can’t stand. I’m scared of leaving my family behind. I’m scared of leaving my local stores and my Mexican food. I’m scared that my friends are going to forget about me and I’m not going to be accepted when I come back. I’m scared that my family is going to drastically. Most of all I’m scared of the change that’s going to happen to me. But at the same time change could be good. I’m excited to try new food. I’m excited to meet my host family (still waiting). I’m excited to go on a plane. I’m excited to learn German. I’m excited to meet new people. I’m excited for language camp. I’m excited for walking the streets in Germany. I’m excited find my favorite stores. I’m excited to go to German high school. I’m excited to go the Christmas markets. I’m excited for many things. But I’m also excited for this new change.

In a “happier” note. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO PACK!! Currently I’m in Wisconsin on a short little vacation, but as soon as I get back I have to start packing. How do you pack one year into a suitcase. A couple weeks ago I “packed” with the bare basics and it was horrible. I think my bag was overweight but the suitcase was only half full. It’s so stressful. Another thing also stressful, I DON’T HAVE A HOSY FAMILY YET!! In the CBYX group chat students announced when they have their host families, and it’s stressful to not have any idea where you’re going to be staying for the next year.

Well this was a very llllllooooooonnnnnnggggggg post but if you managed to get this far, I love you so much. Be back in 2 weeks or whenever I get a host a family or whenever I have a packing list set, whichever comes sooner.

-Yaismin
July 9th, 2017 8.33am

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

