AFS-CBYX Post Interview

Hey people,

 

I just got home from my interview at the AFS Office in NYC. I feel like such a heavy weight has been lifted of my shoulders. I woke up at 5 am today and left to the train station at 5.45am to get the 6am train to Grand Central. My mom and I had no idea how to get to the office, so luckily we knew a friend who agreed to take us to the office. THANK GOD! I honestly had no idea how to get there and did not want to rely on google maps (nothing against google). When I finally entered the building there was already another applicant there. At the interview there was only 8 other applicants, plus the parents. We talked about questions we had about the program, but soon the individual interviews started. I was the second one to have my interview. I completely blanked out. There were 3 AFS volunteers whom interviewed me. I’m not going to say the questions but they were more hypothetical situations and questions about past situations. After everyone had their interview there was a group activity. We were split into 2 groups and told to build a tower without communicating in English. Luckily everyone in my group had a basic knowledge of Spanish so that is how we communicated. Also once we started an idea we did not really needed to talk. We just built on top of each others idea. They asked us a couple questions about how we worked together. It’s over. Now I just have to wait until late March or April. In light of CBYX I say Tschüss!

-Yaismin
February 11th, 2017 3.36pm

One thought on “AFS-CBYX Post Interview

Add yours

  1. Wow. That group project thing was much more intense than ours in ASSE. We had to teach some hypothetical German exchange students how to survive in an American high school but we were definitely speaking in English. If we had to speak a different language I don’t know how I would have done 😅

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

